Appletree Cottage Antiques & Home

An eclectic mix of old and new items for your home.

Road Trip…the never ending search

I love our drives. My husband and I drove to Washington DC last week to visit our oldest son who is living and working in DC. We planned to mix in some shopping with our visit. You know I am on a constant search to find that unique, one of a kind item for the shop.

Heading to breakfast the first day we saw some estate sale signs in old town Alexandria. I admit it, I just can’t resist the hunt…so before we even had a cup of coffee, the shopping adrenaline kicked in and we followed the signs. It was a nice first stop and I found some antique bowls and other smalls.

20131030-060957.jpg

Later that day, with son in tow, we headed out to some antique shops and architectural salvage yards. Given the history and architecture in Virginia I was fascinated and overwhelmed by the salvage yards. All I could see was a year of projects…so many pieces, so many ideas! Watch for future posts of some repurposing of materials that I bought. We also found a great 1920-1930 sled that will be in the shop shortly with the holiday transformation.

20131030-064856.jpg

The next morning we headed to a flea market in DC (no son, he was shopped out…) that is in it’s 30th year. I had an opportunity to talk with some talented artisans about carrying their unique items in the shop. I am so excited about the possibilities. It is too late for this holiday season, but I can see a road trip early next year with a good size truck…

20131030-065424.jpg

On our way home, we took a detour through Pennsylvania to visit some of my regular stops and to search out some new ones. I am never disappointed on my Pennsylvania trips. I always manage to find those unique handmade items. I ended up buying a dozen holiday signs made from old barn siding and filled our truck with all types of gift items and holiday decor. I can’t wait to display them, I know you will be pleased.

20131030-070516.jpg

So another very successful drive. It was so nice to see my son, I miss him dearly, and I got to spend some quiet time (and shopping time) with my husband. I am very pleased with the holiday items I found for the shop. I am also excited about the new artisans I met and the new pickin’ places I found. I want to continue to make Appletree a unique shopping experience for you.

I have a full calendar of shopping events planned for the next 2 months. Watch for the announcements. Thank you for your continued support, I look forward to seeing you over the holiday season.

Warm regards, Anne

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

